top of page
IMG-9808.jpg

5 tips for being patient

Updated: Mar 18, 2021

Have you ever been tired of pursing a goal? Let's be real, reaching a goal is not always easy. It takes determination, motivation, and patience. Yes, patience. Which means you have to wait and endure everything that comes with reaching your goal. For example, when I was in college, I waited a long 5 years to get my degree. I had a couple melt downs and even failed a few classes but I did it!


After graduating, I started to plan out how I wanted my life to be and I consulted with God about my purpose. God started to show me what He had planned for me. My goal became being in God's perfect will for my life and to walk in purpose however, it has not been easy. I know what promises God has for me based on what the bible says and what He's revealed to me but, what do you do when you're waiting for the promises to be your reality?


This is something God has been dealing with me on and I'm going to share with you what iv'e learned so far. Here are a few tips when trying to be patient while your waiting to achieve your goals:

  1. Be real about how you feel

  2. Reminder your why

  3. Stay motivated

  4. Don't get distracted

  5. Enjoy the moment

So, lets break these down. Disclaimer: Some will be easier than others but if you really try these things they can be helpful. I'm speaking from experience what works for me may not be your thing.


1. Be real about how you feel

If you are feeling overwhelmed or stressed don't try to act like your not! It's okay and natural to feel theses emotions. Reaching your goals is not an easy thing but, here is some advice.

" Do not worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all he has done. (Philippians 4: 6, NLT)"

When you have these emotions, take them to God in prayer! let Him know that your upset that you are still waiting for the right job, right man, or whatever goal your waiting to achieve, and thank Him for what you do have. Then the best part is you will start to actually be thankful and content if you keep praying. The scripture continues with " Then you will experience God's peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:7, NLT)"


2.Remember your why

When your feeling tired, remind yourself of the end goal.

"And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. ( Philippians 4:8, NLT)"

Keep your thoughts pure and eventually you will start to have positive thoughts. The more you direct your thoughts to be positive the more you will be able to be remain positive.It can be hard to remain positive so here's another tip: surround yourself with positive people. Call up the people in your life that you know can remind you of your goals and encourage you.


3.Stay motivated

Make sure you are staying positive through whatever season your in. Think about how much you have already achieved and don't think about what you haven't achieved yet.

"No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus is calling us. (Philippians 3: 13-14, NLT)"

Remember why you chose the goal and think of the reward ahead! You got this and with God you are capable of doing anything!


4. Don't get distracted

While your on this journey there will be things that try to stop you from reaching your goal. I want to encourage you to not get distracted or thrown off track.

" The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand.When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure. (1 Corthians 10:14, NLT)"

Even though at the time, the circumstances may seem unbearable God is always with you! He will not give you anything that you can't handle. Temptations will come and can be a distraction to throw you off track. I can share so many stories with you about this but this post would be too long! But just so you know, your not alone in this!


5. Enjoy the moment!

This last one is something I found to be hard but I'm telling you if you look at each season of your life as a way for you to learn something, It will help you endure the wait.

" Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come way, consider it an opportunity for a great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing. (James 1:2-4, NLT)"

Each one of these steps will all work together to help you remain patient while your waiting to achieve whatever goal you have. Notice the one thing each step has in common, I referred to a scripture and God! Having God along your side will make everything easier. I'm not saying it won't be challenging but you can depend on Him no matter what! So think about it, what are you waiting to achieve ?





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yoked

How did you feel about this post

Let's Talk about it

Become a member and discuss your thoughts about this post. Start by introducing yourself to the members and then join in on the discussion. Just click the button below.

bottom of page